Steam summer sales

steamThe Steam Summer Sale has officially ended, and it was well worth the time. I grabbed up Skyrim, Civilization V, The Walking Dead, and was gifted Ion Assault. Not a bad haul, and 100% of the games I bought came from Steam Wallet cash—TF2 items I sold on the market, or trading cards that I…sold on the market. Some thoughts:

  • Trading Cards. What a brilliant system for absolutely everyone involved. Each game that has trading cards allows you to find half of the total drops through simply playtime. You can then craft them together for badges (which can give you other random rewards) or sell them on the market for between 10 and 30 cents a piece. This isn’t a lot, but it can be a steady money flow. It also gets me playing some games in my Steam library I’ve either neglected or simply haven’t returned to in a while. So it’s good for me: more diversity and a little more cash in my internet pocket. It’s good for developers, who see more people playing their games and can draw attention to whatever they like. It’s good for Valve, who takes a cut of every single transaction on the market, which adds up very very quickly. So it’s a win-win-win.
  • Skyrim. I already talked about it a good bit here. You may have less choices than you like, but what’s there is more and more refined and cohesive.
  • The Walking Dead. I haven’t given myself the time to play this game a heck of a lot. I’ve gotten through some small part of the first episode, though, and this game is dramatic and good at telling a story. It was a friend of mine who showed me the game, a friend who watches the show and reads the comics (it’s a comic, right?) and enjoyed it thoroughly. Telltale does well as usual.
  • Ion Assault. In my rush to try and find a good twin-stick shooter, I put several demo-less games on Steam on my wish list, to check out later. A friend of mine saw Ion Assault on sale and bought it up as a nice present. Rather than just shooting bullets, you have to collect the particle floating around the level to deal damage. It doesn’t follow every rule I wrote, but it definitely has a difficulty curve that I found myself obviously advancing along, which was enjoyable. And it has Trading Cards. So yeah.
  • Civilization V. This is apparently a very unpopular opinion, but I have had a lot of trouble thus far enjoying this game. The first game I played was with three other people and was riddled with connection issues, which, compounded with my entire unfamiliarity with the game made it hard to enjoy. Okay, sure. I played another game with two people and really just burned myself out and got incredibly bored an hour or two in, left with nothing to do and nowhere to go (and still only a mild understanding of things), so I quit playing. Slightly more recently I’ve tried to tackle the tutorials and they involve an incredible amount of reading and are perhaps too streamlined. I’ve been advised to just suck it up and play through a single player game with a low difficulty and presumably win, in order to feel for the whole game. When I get a bit more time I’ll give it a run.
