Reading is fun!

sex drugs cocoa puffsMy range of books I typically enjoy reading is somewhat limited in scope. I like a little bit of sci-fi, Ender’s Game and its entire universe of sequels are some of my favorite books. I like a little bit of techno-thriller, Michael Crichton’s Prey was amazing, and it’s very cool to make fun of Dan Brown but I really liked Deception Point and Digital Fortress. I like World War II stories, Flyboys is one of my favorite all-time books, Unbroken was fantastic, and various other books (particularly about the Pacific theater) were all very very interesting.

But that’s about all. Sure, I’ve read and liked other books. But that’s essentially my collection.

My ladyfriend and I, in some attempt to be more informed and more interesting and more cool, have switched books. I gave her Flyboys, which is probably not really her cup of tea but certainly had a big impact on me. And she gave me Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs, a strange book by Chuck Klosterman, a collection of essays on pop culture and how it affects, well, everything.

Thus far it’s funny, makes some good points, and is enjoyable if nothing else. It sparked a discussion about the impact of The Real World with my dad, which was provoking and is interesting in and of itself.

